Village Boards and Commissions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Here is a list of the current Village of Bartlett advisory boards and commissions. If you are interested in volunteering to serve on one of these commissions or boards, please complete an application. If no positions are currently available, the Village will keep your application on file and contact you when there is an opening on the board or commission in which you are interested.

Economic Development Commission

The EDC meets the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Village Hall.

The Economic Development Commission (EDC) works with Village staff and existing and prospective businesses to encourage proper economic development of the area. The EDC encourages industrial, commercial, retail, and service business development, which will provide job opportunities, broaden the tax base, and improve the quality of life in Bartlett. To accomplish these goals, the EDC coordinates its activities with the Chamber of Commerce and the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs. Commissioners work with Village staff to conduct research into community resources and compile data that is provided to all prospects considering expansion or location in the Bartlett area. The EDC members: reviewed and recommended the formation of the TIF district for Brewster Business Park, worked with the Town Center consultant to develop the RFQ/RFP for the Town Center, review all tax increment financing district rebate applications, conduct regular business retention visits, and advise the Village Board and staff on policies and programs related to economic development issues.

Nine residents form the Economic Development Commission, one of which is appointed chairperson by the Village President. Of these nine, one seat is occupied by a Bartlett Chamber of Commerce representative, and two are owners or representatives of downtown businesses. The Village President, with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees, makes appointments to this commission. Each EDC member serves a three-year term.

Current Economic Development Commissioners
Gerald Kubaszko
Kirsten Erickson
Robert Perri
Tracy Smodilla
Joseph LaPorte
Stephanie Gandsey
Adam Lewensky
Michelle Hughes
Nanette Gudenkauf (Bartlett Area Chamber of Commerce representative)

Plan Commission

The Plan Commission meets the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Village Hall.

The Plan Commission hears applications for amendments and special uses to the Village of Bartlett zoning code and submits its findings and recommendations to the Village Board. The Plan Commission is involved in the review of every rezoning, subdivision, and site plan review for each development parcel. These reviews can be as simple as making sure a parking lot is designed properly or as complicated as reviewing and approving a multi-acre mixed-use planned development.

The Bartlett Plan Commission consists of 9 members. Members are residents who are appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Board of Trustees. Each Plan Commission member serves a four-year term.

Current Plan Commissioners
James Lemberg, chair
Diane Negele, vice chair
Tim Ridenour
John Miaso
Jerry Kallas
Mark Hopkins
Austin Hopkins
Jack Allen 
Dan Gunsteen       

Board of Police and Fire Commissioners

The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners meets the first Tuesday of the month at 3:30 p.m. in the police department.

The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners makes rules concerning appointments, promotions, suspensions, and removals, in accordance with the Illinois Municipal Code. The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners consists of three residents appointed by the Village President with the consent of the Board of Trustees. Each commissioner serves a three-year term.

Current Police & Fire Commissioners 
Dr. Jane Kirkby, chair                
John P. McGuire                        
John Sampey                             

Police Pension Fund Board of Trustees

The Police Pension Fund Board of Trustees meets quarterly at 2 p.m. in the Village Hall training room.

The Police Pension Fund Board of Trustees oversees the administration of the police pension fund. This board consists of five members. Two members are residents, who are appointed by the Village president, two are elected from the regular police force of the Village, and one is elected from the beneficiaries of the pension. Each member serves two years.

Current Pension Fund Trustees appointed by the Village President
John Sias                
Michael Poremba  

Dan Palmer, beneficiary representative    

Current Pension Fund Trustees elected from the police force
Gary Mitchell 
William Hecker

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals meets the first Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Village Hall.

The Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) hears all petitions for variations and makes recommendations to the Village Board relative to its findings. In addition, it hears all other matters referred to the ZBA by the Village Board and conducts hearings as requested. A typical issue facing the Zoning Board of Appeals would be to evaluate a request for a rear yard variance, which would allow a reduction in the rear yard setback to enable a resident to construct a room addition. The ZBA consists of seven members, who are appointed by the President and Board of Trustees, voting jointly. Each member serves a term of five years.


Current Zoning Board of Appeals Members
Mike Werden, chair                 
George Koziol
Joe Banno
Robert Bucaro
Guy Papa
Charlie Deveaux
Michelle Sarwas


Bike and Run Plan Advisory Committee

The Bike and Run Plan Advisory Committee meets quarterly, on the last Thursday of March, June, September and December at 3 p.m. in the Village Hall.

The Bike and Run Plan Advsirory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Village President and Village Board of Trustees regarding the continued maintenance, upgrading and expansion of the Village bike path system. The committee works with Village staff to create new bike and run path plan recommendations, including locations of bike path links and new paths, bike lanes on existing Village streets, bike rack types and locations, recommendations regarding bike path signage, exploring and making recommendations regarding grants and other funding sources related to bike path maintenance, upgrading and expansion. The BRPAC consists of five members appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees.

Current Bike and Run Path Advisory Committee Members
Michael Camerer
John Goetz
Bruce Hendricks
Dan Palmer
Barry Krall